A diagnosis! Or something…

The doctor got right to the point, as he always does. “The MRI results are normal, so the only thing that leaves us with is fibromyalgia.” I don’t know why his voice 2017-06-02_09.49.38sounded sad, but it was easy to tell.

Fibromyalgia is kind of a diagnosis a doctor gives when he’s tested for everything he can think of and still doesn’t know the answer. So the answer becomes fibromyalgia. It’s like a bucket they toss unknown pain into.

Technically, we still don’t know what causes my pain because no one knows what causes fibromyalgia. I’m not even sure it’s a real thing. It’s just what we call the unknown.

Now, here’s the part where I admit how silly I look for just having published my last post which said it was not fibromyalgia. It apparently is, just that particular pill doesn’t work for me, as most painkillers don’t. He prescribed a new one that also stops seizures. I’m on a few now that stop seizures even though I haven’t had 2017-06-02_08.44.48one of those in about five years, but they also work as mood stabilizers for my bipolar disorder. And this new one evidently will work also as a pain reliever.

Here’s hoping this new pill is better than any other pain pill I’ve tried.

One thought on “A diagnosis! Or something…

Comments are closed.